YouTube no longer shows video recommendations if you turn off viewing history

YouTube

YouTube has announced a drastic change by removing video recommendations if the user has disabled viewing history.

The update was posted on YouTube's help page, where the company noted that the change would take effect starting today.

What does that mean ? Basically, this means that if you have turned off your viewing history, you will see a much cleaner YouTube homepage, with video recommendations removed from the home feed.

YouTube says this change will make it easier for users to find the content they are looking for. When video recommendations are disabled, users will see the search bar and guidance menu on the left side of the interface.

If you prefer that cleaner feed, you'll love this feature. On the other hand, if you want your viewing history to be deactivated, but you want recommendations, you will no longer have this option.

YouTube explains that it is making this change so that users can understand what features the platform relies on when viewing history is enabled. Of course, these changes will not be immediate and will be rolled out over the coming months.

To enable or disable viewing history, users will need to go to the Google My Activity settings page.